External Awards

International Workshop on Nitride Semiconductors 2012 Best Paper Award

Winners: Yoshitaka Taniyasu^{†1}, Jean-François Carlin^{†2}, Antonino Castiglia^{†2}, Raphaël Butté^{†2}, and Nicolas Grandjean^{†2}

†1 NTT Basic Research Laboratories

†2 Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Date: October 19, 2012

Organization: International Workshop on Nitride Semiconductors

For "AlInN/GaN MQW UV-LEDs".

Among III-Nitride semiconductors, the AlInN can only be grown lattice-matched to GaN. The lattice-matched AlInN/GaN structure should be free from cracks and strain-driven defects, which limit the performance of UV/Visible LEDs and LDs using conventional lattice-mismatched AlGaN/GaN and InGaN/GaN structures. In addi-

tion, the AlInN/GaN structure has a larger bandgap discontinuity and a larger refractive index contrast, which more strongly confine the injected carriers in the quantum wells and the emitted light in the active region. Thus, the AlInN/GaN structures are expected not only to improve the device properties but also to increase the design flexibility for novel III-nitride devices. Here we report the achievement of p-type doping in AlInN and describe AlInN-based light-emitting devices

Fellowship in the American Physical Society

Winner: William John Munro, NTT Basic Research Laboratories

Date: November 3, 2012

Organization: American Physical Society

For his extensive contributions to applied quantum information.

1 NTT Technical Review