# **External Awards**

### **Best Paper**

Winner: Mehdi Tibouchi, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories Date: December 6, 2022

**Organization:** The International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)

For "SWIFTEC: Shallue-van de Woestijne Indifferentiable Function to Elliptic Curves."

**Published as:** J. Chavez-Saab, F. Rodríguez-Henríquez, and M. Tibouchi, "SWIFTEC: Shallue-van de Woestijne Indifferentiable Function to Elliptic Curves," Advances in Cryptology – ASIACRYPT 2022, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Vol. 13791, Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-031-22963-3 3

#### Al2000 Most Influential Scholar Honorable Mention

Winner: Marc Delcroix, NTT Communication Science Laboratories

Date: February 24, 2023

Organization: AMiner, Tsinghua University

In recognition of outstanding and vibrant contributions in the field of speech recognition.

#### **Electronics Society Activity Testimonial**

Winner: Akihiro Kohno, NTT Device Technology Laboratories Date: March 7, 2023

**Organization:** The Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE) Electronics Society

For contribution as a secretary of the Polymer Optical Components Technical Group Committee.

#### **Electronics Society Activity Testimonial**

Winner: Toru Segawa, NTT Device Technology Laboratories

Date: March 7, 2023

Organization: IEICE Electronics Society

For contribution to planning and management of IEICE Electronics Society.

### Young Researcher's Award

Winner: Hideaki Kinsho, NTT Network Service Systems Laborato-

ries

**Date:** March 9, 2023 **Organization:** IEICE

For "Proposal of a Method for Constructing a Throughput Estimation Model for Wireless Base Stations Based on Hierarchical Bayesian Model Considering the Number of Observations."

**Published as:** H. Kinsho and K. Takeshita, "Proposal of a Method for Constructing a Throughput Estimation Model for Wireless Base Stations Based on Hierarchical Bayesian Model Considering the Number of Observations," Proc. of the 2022 IEICE Society Conference, B-11-7, Virtual, Sept. 2022.

#### **Young Scientist Presentation Award**

Winner: Takuya Okamoto, NTT Basic Research Laboratories

Date: March 15, 2023

Organization: The Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP)

For "MHz-repetition-rate Generation of 1.7-cycle Intense Pulses

Using an 80W Yb:KGW Laser."

**Published as:** T. Okamoto, Y. Kunihashi, Y. Shinohara, H. Sanada, M. Chen, and K. Oguri, "MHz-repetition-rate Generation of 1.7-cycle Intense Pulses Using an 80W Yb:KGW Laser," The 83rd JSAP Autumn Meeting 2022, 22p-C206-11, 2022.

#### Young Scientist Award for an Excellent Article

Winner: Ai Ikeda, NTT Basic Research Laboratories

Date: March 15, 2023

**Organization:** JSAP Superconductors Division

For "Designing Superlattices of Cuprates and Ferrites for Superconductivity."

**Published as:** A. Ikeda, Y. Krockenberger, Y. Taniyasu, and H. Yamamoto, "Designing Superlattices of Cuprates and Ferrites for Superconductivity," ACS Appl. Electron. Mater., Vol. 4, No. 6, pp. 2672–2681, 2022.

### **TELECOM System Technology Award**

Winners: Takahiro Kashiwazaki, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Taichi Yamashima, The University of Tokyo; Naoto Takanashi, The University of Tokyo; Asuka Inoue, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Takeshi Umeki, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Akira Furusawa, The University of Tokyo/Institute of Physical and Chemical Research

**Date:** March 22, 2023

Organization: The Telecommunications Advancement Foundation

For "Fabrication of Low-loss Quasi-single-mode PPLN Wave-guide and Its Application to a Modularized Broadband High-level Squeezer."

**Published as:** T. Kashiwazaki, T. Yamashima, N. Takanashi, A. Inoue, T. Umeki, and A. Furusawa, "Fabrication of Low-loss Quasisingle-mode PPLN Waveguide and Its Application to a Modularized Broadband High-level Squeezer," Appl. Phys. Lett., Vol. 119, 251104, 2021.

## **Best Paper**

**Winners:** Yosuke Todo, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; Takanori Isobe, University of Hyogo

**Date:** March 22, 2023 **Organization:** IACR

For "Hybrid Code Lifting on Space-hard Block Ciphers: Application to Yoroi and SPNbox."

**Published as:** Y. Todo and T. Isobe, "Hybrid Code Lifting on Spacehard Block Ciphers: Application to Yoroi and SPNbox," IACR Trans. Symmetric Cryptol., Vol. 3, pp. 368–402, 2022. https://doi.org/10.46586/tosc.v2022.i3.368-402

## **Best Paper**

Winners: Varun Maram, ETH Zurich; Keita Xagawa, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories

Date: March 26, 2023 Organization: IACR

For "Post-quantum Anonymity of Kyber."

**Published as:** V. Maram and K. Xagawa, "Post-quantum Anonymity of Kyber," Cryptology ePrint Archive, Paper 2022/1696, 2022.

## **CSEC Research Award**

**Winners:** Fumihiro Kanei, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; Ayako A. Hasegawa, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology; Eitaro Shioji, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; Mitsuaki Akiyama, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories

Date: April 4, 2023

Organization: Information Processing Society of Japan (IPSJ) Com-

puter Security Group (CSEC)

For "A Survey on Public and In-house Secure Development Guidelines in U.S. and Japanese Industries."

**Published as:** F. Kanei, A. A. Hasegawa, E. Shioji, and M. Akiyama, "A Survey on Public and In-house Secure Development Guidelines in U.S. and Japanese Industries," 100th CSEC Meeting, Mar. 2023.