External Awards

2023 HPCI Software Awards, Encouragement Award in Development Category

Winner: The development group of SALMON consisting of Shunsuke Yamada, National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology, Kansai Institute for Photon Science; Yuta Hirokawa, Preferred Networks, Inc.; Kenji Iida, Hokkaido University Institute for Catalysis; Jun-ichi Iwata, Quemix Inc.; Shinji Noda, ACADE-MEIA Inc.; Tomohito Otobe, National Institutes for Quantum Science and Technology, Kansai Institute for Photon Science; Shunsuke Sato, Center for Computational Sciences, University of Tsukuba; Yasushi Shinohara, NTT Basic Research Laboratories/School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo; Takashi Takeuchi, RIKEN Cluster for Pioneering Research (CPR); Mizuki Tani, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo; Mitsuharu Uemoto, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Kobe University; Kazuhiro Yabana, Center for Computational Sciences, University of Tsukuba; Atsushi Yamada, Research organization for Information Science and Technology

Date: May 19, 2023

Organization: High Performance Computing Infrastructure Consor-

tium (HPCI)

The development group of the first-principles calculation code SALMON (Scalable Ab-initio Light-Matter simulator for Optics and Nanoscience, https://salmon-tddft.jp/), which is developing the field of computational science such as large-scale calculations, was selected as a developer or organization whose software was recognized as particularly useful among the software that contributed to HPCI.

ICASSP 2023 Outstanding Reviewer Recognition

Winner: Hiroshi Sawada, NTT Communication Science Laboratories

Date: June 21, 2023

Organization: The 2023 IEEE International Conference on Acous-

tics, Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP 2023)

Best Paper Award

Winners: Shimpei Shimizu, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Takayuki Kobayashi, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Takushi Kazama, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories/NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Takeshi Umeki, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories/NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Koji Enbutsu, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Ryoichi Kasahara, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Yutaka Miyamoto, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories

Date: September 13, 2023

Organization: The Institute of Electronics, Information and Com-

munication Engineers (IEICE) Communications Society

For "Channel Arrangement Design in Lumped Amplified WDM Transmission over NZ-DSF Link with Nonlinearity Mitigation Using Optical Phase Conjugation."

Published as: S. Shimizu, T. Kobayashi, T. Kazama, T. Umeki, K. Enbutsu, R. Kasahara, and Y. Miyamoto, "Channel Arrangement Design in Lumped Amplified WDM Transmission over NZ-DSF Link with Nonlinearity Mitigation Using Optical Phase Conjugation," IEICE Trans. Commun., Vol. E105-B, No. 7, pp. 805–813, 2022.

ComEX Best Letter Award

Winners: Doohwan Lee, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Yasunori Yagi, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Hiroyuki Shiba, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories

Date: September 13, 2023

Organization: IEICE Communications Society

For "Multishape Radio: New Approach to Utilizing the Physical Properties of Electromagnetic Waves."

Published as: D. Lee, Y. Yagi, and H. Shiba, "Multishape Radio: New Approach to Utilizing the Physical Properties of Electromagnetic Waves," IEICE Communications Express (ComEX)., Vol. 11, No. 9, pp. 571–576, Sept. 2022.

Distinguished Contributions Award

Winner: Shuto Yamamoto, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories

Date: September 13, 2023

Organization: IEICE Communications Society

For contributions as a secretariat in IEICE Technical Committee on Optical Communication Systems.

JIP Specially Selected Paper

Winners: Kazuki Nomoto, Waseda University; Takuya Watanabe, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; Eitaro Shioji, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; Mitsuaki Akiyama, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; Tatsuya Mori, Waseda University

Date: September 15, 2023

Organization: Information Processing Society of Japan

For "Understanding the Inconsistencies in the Permissions Mechanism of Web Browsers."

Published as: K. Nomoto, T. Watanabe, E. Shioji, M. Akiyama, and T. Mori, "Understanding the Inconsistencies in the Permissions Mechanism of Web Browsers," Journal of Information Processing (JIP), Vol. 31, pp. 620–642, 2023.