External Awards

Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan

Winner: Katsumasa Yoshioka, NTT Basic Research Laboratories

Date: October 24, 2023

Organization: The Physical Society of Japan

For pioneering terahertz spectroscopy techniques for investigating ultrafast local and nonlocal responses.

Fellow

Winner: Jun-ichi Kani, NTT Access Network Service Systems

Laboratories

Date: October 30, 2023 **Organization:** Optica

For achievements and leadership in advancing optical access architecture and technologies.

Top Committer

Winner: Akihiro Suda, NTT Software Innovation Center

Date: November 8, 2023

Organization: Cloud Native Computing Foundation

For his contributions as a maintainer of several projects, including

containerd and Lima.

Excellent Presentation Audience Award

Winner: Takayuki Ogasawara, NTT Basic Research Laboratories

Date: November 12, 2023

Organization: The Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers

For "Score Prediction Using Postural Tremor during Aiming in Archery."

CANDAR Workshop Best Paper

Winners: Aoi Yamashita, Keio University; Masahiro Tanaka, Keio University; Yutaro Bessho, NTT Computer and Data Science Laboratories; Yasuhiro Fujiwara, NTT Communication Science Laboratories; Hideyuki Kawashima, Keio University

Date: December 1, 2023

Organization: The Eleventh International Symposium on Computing and Networking (CANDAR 2023)

For "Improving Raft Performance with Bulk Transfers."

Published as: A. Yamashita, M. Tanaka, Y. Bessho, Y. Fujiwara, and H. Kawashima, "Improving Raft Performance with Bulk Transfers," Proc. of CANDAR 2023, Matsue, Shimane, Japan, Nov./Dec. 2023.